Always Dreaming Is The 4-5 Favorite For the Preakness - LEX18.com | Continuous News and StormTracker Weather

Always Dreaming Is The 4-5 Favorite For the Preakness

Posted: Updated:
Associated Press Associated Press

 (AP) - Kentucky Derby winner Always Dreaming has been made the early 4-5 favorite for the Preakness.
Ridden by John Velazquez, Always Dreaming will break from the No. 4 post in the 10-horse field for the second leg of the Triple Crown. Thirteen winners have started from that post, most recently Curlin in 2007.
Post positions were drawn Wednesday on a steamy, 92-degree day at Pimlico.
Classic Empire is the early 3-1 second choice for the 1 3/16-mile race. The colt finished fourth after getting bounced around and having a rough early trip in the Kentucky Derby two weeks ago. He will be next door to Always Dreaming in post No. 5.
Lookin At Lee, the second-place finisher in the Derby, is the 10-1 third choice. He drew the No. 9 post.

The field for Saturday's 142nd Preakness Stakes, with post position, horse's name, jockey's name and odds:
    PP      Horse    Jockey    Odds
    1. Multiplier    Joel    Rosario    30-1
    2. Cloud Computing    Javier    Castellano    12-1
    3. Hence    Florent    Geroux    20-1
    4. Always Dreaming    John    Velazquez    4-5
    5. Classic Empire    Julien    Leparoux    3-1
    6. Gunnevera    Mike    Smith    15-1
    7. Term of Art    Jose    Ortiz    30-1
    8. Senior Investment    Channing    Hill    30-1
    9. Lookin at Lee    Corey    Lanerie    10-1
    10. Conquest Mo Money    Jorge    Carreno    15-1    
Trainers (by post position): 1, Brendan Walsh. 2, Chad Brown. 3, Steve Asmussen. 4, Todd Pletcher. 5, Mark Casse. 6, Antonio Sano. 7, Doug O'Neill. 8, Ken McPeek. 9, Steve Asmussen. 10, Miguel Hernandez.
Owners (by post position): 1, Gary Barber, et al. 2, Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence. 3, Calumet Farm. 4, Brooklyn Boyz Stables, et al. 5, John C. Oxley. 6, Peacock Racing Stables. 7, Calumet Farm. 8, Fern Circle Stables. 9, L and N Racing LLC. 10, Judge Lanier Racing.
Weights: 126 each. Distance: 1 3-16 miles. Purse: $1,500,000. First place: $900,000. Second place: $300,000. Third place: $165,000. Fourth place: $90,000. Fifth: $45,000. Post time: 6:48 p.m. EDT.

MaxTrack Doppler
Powered by Frankly

© LEX18.com 2018, LEX18.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?