Champions of Change- Creative Artists and Strong Writers Earn Re - LEX18.com | Continuous News and StormTracker Weather

Creative artists and strong writers earn regional recognition

Champions of Change- Creative Artists and Strong Writers Earn Regional Recognition

Posted: Updated:
Creative artists and strong writers earn regional recognition Creative artists and strong writers earn regional recognition

Several high school students from Fayette County Public Schools have earned regional recognition in the 2018 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program, which invites teens to submit entries in more than two dozen categories. The judges look for pieces that exemplify originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision. The awards are coordinated by the nonprofit Alliance for Young Artists & Writers.

Lexington’s artists participated in the Northern Kentucky, Southern Ohio, and Southeast Indiana Region. Gold key winners will advance to the spring’s national competition in New York City.

Henry Clay High School:

  • Indana Fauzi, honorable mention for “Martin,” painting;


  • Tuesday Hadden -- gold key for “A Movement That Cannot Be Contained,” drawing and illustration;
  • Anya Hartman -- gold key for “The Golden Valley,” drawing and illustration, and honorable mentions (same category) for “Nimbus” and “Hands of Power”;

Paul Laurence Dunbar:

  • Jennifer Lee -- gold keys for “Head,” digital art (American Visions nominee), “Wolf Together,” and “The Kiss,” drawing and illustration, and for “Wolfman Willis,” comic art; silver keys for “Cross-Section” and “Wolf Hunt,” drawing and illustration, “Wolffffffffffffffffffff,” comic art, and “Cerberous,” digital art; and honorable mention for “Red Hills,” digital art;
  • Megan Slusarewicz -- gold keys for “Traffic in a Dream” and “Reflected in Water,” photography, and silver keys (same category) for “Indoor Cat and the Spirit of Spring,” “Release,” and “Reach Within.”

Fayette County’s writers competed in the Southeast Region at-large, which covers several states.


  • Katrin Flores – honorable mention for “The Hive,” poetry;
  • Deborah Han – silver key for “The Reality,” personal essay and memoir;
  • Claire Qian – gold key for “Nothing But Trash,” personal essay and memoir;
  • Eliza Sayers – honorable mention, “Christmas Hairbrush,” personal essay and memoir;
  • Ruby Tevis – gold keys for “An Equestrian’s Winter,” journalism, and “Fruit,” poetry; silver for “Churchill at Dawn,” poetry; and honorable mention for “The Chestnut Mare,” poetry;
  • Jenna Tinnell – silver for “A Pool Yard Town,” novel writing;
  • Sarah Yohe – silver for “Balloon Rain,” poetry;

Paul Laurence Dunbar:

  • William Ding – honorable mention, “This Has No Label,” critical essay;
  • Isa Eilmus – honorable mention, “Eating Mahogany with Pigeons,” novel writing;
  • Jennifer Lee – gold key for “The Shapeshifter,” science fiction and fantasy, and silver for “Filmspeak,” personal essay and memoir;
  • Megan Slusarewicz – gold key for “Dysfunctional,” poetry, and honorable mention for “A Day in the Life of a Bureaucrat,” flash fiction;

Tates Creek:

  • Eliana Shapere – silver key for “Not in Vain,” writing portfolio.
Powered by Frankly

© LEX18.com 2018, LEX18.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?