#1 Seeds out on Wednesday at Kentucky Bank Tennis Championships

Two major upsets in Wednesday lineup of matches
Posted at 10:39 PM, Jul 31, 2019

LEXINGTON, Ky. — Qualifier Dabin Kim (KOR) and Canadian Benjamin Sigouin (CAN) pulled off stunning upsets on Wednesday as the 2019 Kentucky Bank Tennis Championships hit the halfway point with both No. 1 overall seeds losing.

Sigouin dropped [1] Peter Polansky (CAN) 6-4, 6-4 in straight sets, serving at 59 percent, and converting of seven of his nine break points in the match. Polansky did not earn a break opportunity in the two-setter and only served at 42 percent on his second serve.

Kim upset [1] Jessika Ponchet (FRA) 6-4, 1-2 as Ponchet was forced to retire due to a medical injury and give Kim the win. Kim served at 63 percent for the match, helping her book her ticket into the next round of the Kentucky Bank Tennis Tournament.

All told, there were 20 women’s matches played and 19 men’s matches on Wednesday as many had to be made up to deal with Tuesday’s record rainfall in the Lexington area. With all matches getting in on Wednesday, the draws are back on track and will continue at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday morning.

Thursday night at the Boone Varsity Tennis Center is presented by North Lime Coffee & Donuts beginning at 6:15 p.m. ET. Featured in play will be former University of Kentucky men’s tennis All-Americans Jesse Witten and Eric Quigley in the second match on court in the night session in the second round of the men’s doubles draw.

STADIUM 1 start 10:00 am
[12] E. Karlovskiy (RUS) vs [5] D. Lee (KOR)

Not Before 11:00
[14] L. Broady (GBR) vs [ITF] D. Hidalgo (ECU)
[3] J. Sinner (ITA) vs [16] M. Cressy (USA)
[4] J. Aragone (USA) / L. Broady (GBR) vs Alternate
Not Before 7:00 pm
R. Smith (USA) vs L. Draxl (CAN) or [2] A. Bolt (AUS)
[WC] E. Quigley (USA) / J. Witten (USA) vs M. Banes (AUS) / A. Vukic (AUS) or [3] A. Goransson (SWE) / S. Verbeek (NED)

COURT 6 start 10:00 am
B. Sigouin (CAN) vs [13] J. Aragone (USA)
Not Before 11:00
B. Gojo (CRO) vs [7] A. Santillan (AUS)
A. Ritschard (USA) vs [9] M. Banes (AUS)
L. Glasspool (GBR) vs [Alt] S. Verbeek (NED)
C. Altamirano (USA) / A. Ritschard (USA) vs D. Lee (KOR) / K. Uchida (JPN)
May move to Stadium 1 - [1] R. Maytin (VEN) / J. Withrow (USA) or E. Hoyt (GBR) / B. Saraiva (POR) vs [WC] M. Cressy (USA) / K. Smith (USA)
[ITF] D. Hidalgo (ECU) / M. Redlicki (USA) vs [ITF] L. Glasspool (GBR) / M. Pervolarakis (GRE)