Red Flag Warning Issued For Several Eastern Ky. Counties

Posted at 5:23 AM, Apr 12, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-12 05:23:14-04

(LEX 18) – A red flag warning has been issued for several counties in the eastern part of Kentucky. 

A Red Flag Warning means that critical fire weather conditions are either occurring now or will shortly. A combination of strong winds, low relative humidity, and warm temperatures can contribute to extreme fire behavior.

The warning will be in effect from 1 p.m. until 8 p.m. 

The affected counties included Rowan, Estill, Menifee, Rockcastle, Powell, Jackson, Pulaski, Laurel, Wayne, McCreary, Whitley, Knox, Elliott, Morgan, Johnson, Wolfe, Magoffin, Floyd, Lee, Breathitt, Owsley, Perry, Clay, Leslie and Martin.

Outdoor burning is not recommended at this time.