President Trump Issues Disaster Declaration For Ky. Counties

Posted at 10:03 AM, Apr 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-27 10:03:40-04

FRANKFORT, Ky. (LEX 18) – President Donald Trump has authorized assistance for certain Kentucky counties that suffered significant damage as a result of the severe weather and flooding in February and March.

“We are grateful to the President for issuing an official disaster declaration to aid more Kentucky counties impacted by severe weather and flooding earlier this year,” said Gov. Bevin.  “This federal assistance will provide more than one-quarter of our counties with important resources as they continue recovery efforts, and I am appreciative to our local and state emergency management teams for their assistance throughout this process.  Let’s all continue to work together to help our communities with their recovery.”

The President’s action grants public assistance to 34 impacted counties to repair roads, bridges and other infrastructure due to severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides.  The declaration will also provide the Commonwealth with mitigation funds.

Counties included in this declaration are:  Boyd, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Crittenden, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Jefferson, Kenton, Lawrence, Livingston, McCracken, McLean, Metcalfe, Ohio, Owen, Spencer, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Washington and Webster.