6 Counties Face Mandated Post-Election Audits

Posted at 11:29 AM, Jun 06, 2018

FRANKFORT, Ky. (LEX 18) — The Kentucky Attorney General’s Office announced Wednesday the six counties that will face independent scrutiny looking for potential problems during the May 22 primary election.

Audits will be conducted on the election operations in Bullitt, Jessamine, Owen, Powell, Rowan and Scott counties.

State law mandates the review, and the counties are chosen at random.

“These audits ensure a fair and equitable election process in Kentucky and supplement the work our investigators did leading up to and during the primary election,” Attorney General Andy Beshear said in a statement. “Kentuckians have the right to cast their ballot free of interference and intimidation, and my office is here to protect that right.”

The AG’s Department of Criminal Investigations conducts the audits, and the Office of Special Prosecutions will present the results to grand juries.

The office said no irregularities were found in the last post-election audit, in November 2016. Calloway, Carter, Jackson, Leslie, Muhlenberg and Wayne counties were audited at that time.