Anderson Co residents can get REAL IDs in Frankfort

vtid real id
Posted at 10:47 AM, Oct 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-08 10:53:51-04

FRANKFORT, Ky. (LEX 18) — The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is expanding REAL ID-compliant card access to Anderson County residents.

Anderson County residents who have an existing driver’s license, permit or personal ID may visit the KYTC driver’s license office at the Transportation Cabinet headquarters in Frankfort to upgrade to a Voluntary Travel ID.

Voluntary Travel IDs are Kentucky’s REAL ID-compliant driver’s licenses, accepted for U.S. commercial air travel and restricted federal facility access once federal enforcement begins Oct. 1, 2020. The cards serve as one of several forms of IDs accepted at airport security checkpoints, military bases and federal buildings that require identification. They do not have to be presented with a passport to board a flight.

“KYTC has successfully processed Voluntary Travel ID requests from Franklin County residents and we’re ready to make new card versions available to even more Kentuckians at our regional office concept location,” said Department of Vehicle Regulation Commissioner Matt Henderson. “Serving residents from two counties will offer valuable insight to guide our next steps as we design KYTC-staffed regional offices.”

The Frankfort office will offer a dedicated station for Franklin County residents and a dedicated station for Anderson County residents. Software upgrades are in development to allow a single station to take applications from residents of multiple counties. Applicants will receive a temporary 30-day document that serves as a driving credential until the permanent card arrives in the mail at the applicant’s residence. Residents applying for a Voluntary Travel ID card version must present one (1) proof of identity, one (1) proof of social security number and two (2) proofs of residency (dated less than 61 days for most documents). A full list of acceptable documents is available on the Confident Kentucky website.

The KYTC driver’s license office is located on 200 Mero St., in Frankfort, Kentucky and is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Only debit and credit cards will be accepted (no cash or check). The Frankfort office is not equipped to serve applicants who require testing or re-testing.

The Anderson County Circuit Court Clerk office will continue to serve as the application site for standard, non REAL ID-compliant driver’s licenses, permits and personal IDs.