NewsCovering Kentucky


Kentucky State Police Announce Civilian Employee Of The Year, Other Awards

Posted at 11:32 AM, Nov 19, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-19 11:32:34-05
Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rick Sanders (left) presented Randall J. Adams (right) with the Kentucky State Police 2018 Civilian Employee of the Year Award on Nov.16 in Lexington.

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Fourteen civilian employees were honored today by the Kentucky State Police at a ceremony in Lexington highlighting their performance and public service during the past year.

“The Kentucky State Police has a wide array of individuals with diverse talents and skills who contribute to our public safety mission on a daily basis,” said KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders. “Without them, our success would be impossible. I thank each of them for their service.”

Somerset resident Randall J. Adams was named 2018 KSP Civilian Employee of the Year. A 29-year veteran of the agency, Adam is a Police Telecommunicator II at KSP Post 15 in Columbia.

Adams distinguished himself during a 2017 incident when a military veteran, who suffered from PTSD, told his family that he was going to commit suicide somewhere in Cumberland County. Unable to make contact with the subject by phone, Adams left a voice mail message that he was also a veteran and just wanted to help. A short time later, the subject returned the call stating that he had already shot himself in the chest. Through labored breathing, the subject described his surroundings and Adams was able to direct troopers to the location. The subject was transported from the scene and received medical treatment that saved his life.

A Columbia, Ky. native, Adams is a 1978 graduate of Adair Co. High School and a 1983 graduate of Campbellsville University. He is the son of the late Jessie Adams of Columbia and Verlene Adams of Somerset.

Other KSP civilian employees who received awards included:

Administrative Services Award

Alicia Parham, Internal Policy Analyst III, Strategic Planning Branch

Supervisor of the Year Award

Heather Ellis, Administrative Section Supervisor, Intelligence Branch

Forensic Services Support Award

Carolyn Trader-Moore, Forensic Scientist Specialist II, Eastern Lab

Commercial Vehicle Support Award

Matthew Lawson, CVE Inspector II, Region 1-Henderson

Post Operations Support Award


Gary Hopperton, Maintenance Worker II, Post 6- Dry Ridge


David Maes, Administrative Specialist II, Post 1-Mayfield

Driver Testing Award

Harold Masden, Certified Driver’s Test Administrator I, Driver Testing Branch-Louisville

Police Communications Support Award

Randy Adams, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 15-Columbia

Megan Smith, Police Telecommunicator I, Post 12-Frankfort

Eric Smith, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 9-Pikeville

Supply/Properties Management Award

Charles Breidert, Automotive Technician IV, Supply Branch

Information Technology Award

Kim Bradley, Forensic Computer Examiner III, Electronic Crime Branch

Records Technical Support Award

Shane Adams, Administrative Specialist III, Criminal Identification & Records Branch,

Concealed Carry Deadly Weapons Section

Special Enforcement Support Award

Lynne Spencer, Criminal Intelligence Analyst II, Drug Enforcement/ Special Investigations West