NewsCovering Kentucky


Lexington Mayor Linda Gorton Names Top Government Leaders

Posted at 11:21 AM, Jan 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-08 11:21:54-05

LEXINGTON, Ky. (LEX 18)– On Tuesday, Mayor Linda Gorton named most of her Commissioners, the people who will lead Government departments.

“These people will ensure government services operate smoothly, efficiently and effectively,” Gorton said. “They also will be a force for innovation, accountability and transparency within City Hall.”

Susan Speckert is the new Commissioner of Law. Speckert currently heads Fayette Alliance, a coalition of citizens dedicated to achieving sustainable growth in Lexington-Fayette County through land-use advocacy, education, and research. She has also served as general counsel to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, as an assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney in Lexington, and as an associate at the law firm Stoll Keenon Ogden. Speckert will join the City in February.

Returning Commissioners include:

  • Geoff Reed as Commissioner of General Services. Geoff also served as Chief of Staff under Mayor Jim Gray, and has extensive experience in local, state and federal government.
  • Ken Armstrong, a former Assistant Police Chief and Director of Code Enforcement, as Commissioner of Public Safety.
  • Bill O’Mara, a leading member of the City’s financial team for many years, as Commissioner of Finance.
  • Chris Ford, a former Councilmember with a background in city government and local nonprofit agencies, as Commissioner of Social Services.
  • Aldona Valicenti as Chief Information Officer. Valicenti has extensive experience in the public and private sector in information technology. Valicenti was the first CIO for the State of Kentucky.

Gorton plans to advertise for two positions, Commissioner of Planning, Preservation and Development, and Commissioner of Environmental Quality and Public Works. In the meantime, Chief Administrative Officer Sally Hamilton will serve as acting commissioner in Planning; Charles Martin will continue as Acting Commissioner of Public Works. Martin is the Director of the Division of Water Quality.

The appointments and reappointments of all commissioners, the Chief Information Officer and the Chief Administrative Officer are subject to confirmation by the Urban County Council. Those hearings are set for Jan. 17.