NewsCovering Kentucky


Both of Kentucky's 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars are from Lexington

presidential scholars.jpg
Posted at 11:44 AM, May 12, 2022
and last updated 2022-05-12 18:40:47-04

LEXINGTON, Ky. (LEX 18) — Both of Kentucky's 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars are Fayette County Public Schools students.

The two Kentucky scholars are Grayson N. Kemplin of Henry Clay High School and McKenna Sun of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School.

U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona announced the 58th class of Presidential Scholars on Thursday. There were 161 high school seniors chosen for this prestigious honor.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations, and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

More than 5,000 candidates qualified for the 2022 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams, or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations, and YoungArts.

In the past 10 years, there have been 25 presidential scholars from Kentucky, and 11 of them have been Fayette County Public Schools students.

Fayette County Superintendent Dr. Demetrus Liggins commented saying:

We are incredibly proud of Grayson and McKenna and know they will continue to accomplish great things. Their selection as Presidential Scholars is a testament to their hard work, as well as the support of their families, teachers, and schools. This is one of the top honors in our nation and for both of this year’s winners to be from Fayette County Public Schools is a reflection of the rigorous curriculum and challenging instruction our schools provide. Our community should be especially proud that four times in the past 10 years all of the students that achieved this distinction were from Fayette County. In the past decade, 25 Presidential Scholars have been chosen from Kentucky and 11 of them were FCPS students.