NewsCovering Kentucky


Burn ban declared in Laurel County

burn ban
Posted at 11:48 AM, Sep 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-16 11:48:57-04

LAUREL COUNTY, Ky. (LEX 18) — Officials in Laurel County on Monday announced a burn ban, effective immediately.

Laurel County Sheriff John Root said the ban covers all open burning in the county.

The ban will remain in effect until Laurel County receives sufficient rainfall to mitigate the fire hazard," Root said in a statement.

He the ban was called by the Laurel County judge’s office and the director of emergency management.