NewsCovering Kentucky


Deadline approaching for federal assistance following Kentucky tornadoes

Midwest Tornadoes
Posted at 10:30 AM, Jan 20, 2022
and last updated 2022-01-20 10:30:21-05

FRANKFORT, Ky. (LEX 18) — Kentucky homeowners and renters who suffered damage as a result of December's severe storms and tornadoes have until February 11, 2022 to apply for help from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Residents of 16 counties may be eligible for grants from FEMA and low-interest disaster loans from SBA.

These counties include Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor, and Warren.

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid, or other federal benefits.

To apply for help, visit online, call (800) 621-3362, or use the FEMA mobile app.