NY, NJ, CT impose 14-day quarantine for travelers from states with high COVID-19 rates

Posted at 12:02 PM, Jun 24, 2020

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut are imposing a 14-day quarantine on incoming travelers from states with a high transmission rate of the coronavirus.

"We worked really hard to get the viral transmission rate down, and we don't want to see it go up," New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. "So we are jointly instituting that travel advisory today."

The travel advisory will apply to states with two criteria: States that have an infection rate above 10 cases per 100,000 people and states where 10% of the total population test positive. Both criteria are measured on a seven-day rolling average.

As of Wednesday, the states that the travel advisory applies to include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

This story was originally published by Lauren Cook and Mark Sundstrom on WPIX.