Field Hockey 101: Olympic history

Field Hockey 101: Olympic history
Posted at 5:33 PM, Mar 09, 2021

Rio, 2016: 
Women- Great Britain upset defending champion the Netherlands 2-0 in the final on a penalty shootout after coming to a 3-3 draw. Germany won the bronze medal, defeating New Zealand 2-1. 

Men- Argentina won its first gold medal by defeating Belgium 4-2 in the final. Germany, the defending champion, won the bronze medal matchup 4-3 (on a penalty shootout) over the Netherlands. 

London, 2012: 
Men- Germany succeeded in defending its 2008 Olympic gold by beating the Netherlands 2-1 in the final thanks to two goals by Jan Philipp Rabente. Australia won the bronze by beating Great Britain 3-1. 

Women- The Dutch women took home their second consecutive gold medal, beating Argentina 2-0. Great Britain beat New Zealand in the bronze medal match to make the podium on home soil.

Beijing, 2008: 
Men- Germany's Christopher Zeller scored the only goal in a 1-0 win over Spain in the final in Beijing. The Germans had last won gold in 1992. Spain added to the silver medals it won in 1980 and 1996. 

Women- The Netherlands, the reigning world champions, carried the No. 1 ranking into the final. The Dutch lived up to its billing and defeated the hosts China 2-0 to win the gold. 

Athens, 2004: 
Men- Australia won its first-ever Olympic field hockey gold medal with a stunning 2-1 victory over defending champion Netherlands. The Aussies won in overtime through a Jamie Dwyer goal scored in the 78th minute.

Women- The Netherlands entered the Games as heavy favorites to claim women's gold. They had 2003 FIH Player of the Year Mintje Donners on their squad. But Germany, which lost twice in pool play, scored twice in the opening 20 minutes of the final and held on for a 2-1 upset victory and its first gold medal. 

Sydney, 2000: 
Men- The Netherlands edged South Korea, 8-7, on penalty strokes to become the first team to win consecutive men's titles since 1956 (India).

Women- The host Aussies topped Argentina, 3-1, to become the first women's field hockey team to defend an Olympic title.

Atlanta, 1996: 
Men- Dating back to 1968, the Netherlands never finished outside of the top six in the men's Olympic field hockey tournament. During that stretch, the Dutch placed fourth on three occasions and won bronze in 1988. Finally, in Atlanta, the nation cleared the semifinal hurdle, and defeated an upstart Spanish team, 3-1, in the final.

Women- Favored Australia won the women's field hockey tournament, finishing with a 27-5 goal differential, capped by a 3-1 victory over South Korea in the final. Australia extended its international unbeaten streak to 39 matches.

Barcelona, 1992: 
Men- In the final, Germany defeated Australia to win its first Olympic gold in men's field hockey. Pakistan took home the bronze medal. 

Women- Despite little tradition in the sport, host Spain won gold in women's field hockey, beating Germany 2-1 in overtime. 

Seoul, 1988:
Men- Great Britain defeated West Germany for the gold medal. It was Great Britain's first Olympic field hockey gold medal since 1920. 

Women- Australia and South Korea met in the final of the women's tournament with Australia taking home the gold. It was the first Olympic field hockey medal for both nations. 

Los Angeles, 1984: 
Men- Pakistan beat West Germany in the final of the men's tournament. It was Pakistan's seventh Olympic medal in men's field hockey. 

Women- In round-robin play at the 1984 Games, Australia defeated the U.S. 3-1. But the teams wound up tied for third behind the Netherlands (gold) and West Germany (silver) with identical 2-2-1 records and goal totals (9 scored, 7 allowed). Rules of the day required the teams to engage in a penalty stroke shoot-off, which the Americans won, 10-5, to claim bronze.

Moscow, 1980: 
Men- Against a field depleted by the American-led boycott, India won its eighth gold medal in men's field hockey, defeating Spain, 4-3, in the final. Spain was the only other country from the 1976 competition to participate in Moscow.

Women- Five of the six teams originally expected to compete in the inaugural women's Olympic field hockey tournament boycotted the Moscow Games. As a result, Zimbabwe, a last-minute replacement subsidized by the Soviet Union and International Olympic Committee, emerged as the surprise winner. Czechoslovakia was second and the Soviets third.

Montreal, 1976: 
Men- The Games are the first at which field hockey is played entirely on artificial turf. Also for the first time, a country not from Europe or Asia won the gold medal, as New Zealand nipped Australia, 1-0, in the final. All future Olympic field hockey tournaments are contested on synthetic surfaces.

Munich, 1972: 
Men- Not since Great Britain in 1920 had a team other than India or Pakistan earned an Olympic men's field hockey title. But in Munich, host West Germany beat defending champion Pakistan, 1-0, in the Gold Medal Match. Outraged by the officiating, several Pakistani players and fans doused the International Hockey Federation president with water. Some members of the team turned away from the German flag during the medal ceremony. The IOC banned 11 Pakistan players for life, but all were reinstated before the next Olympics.

Mexico City, 1968:
Men- Pakistan made its fourth straight appearance in the final, this time facing off against Australia. Pakistan defeated the Aussies to win gold. India took home the bronze. 

Tokyo, 1964:
Men- For the third consecutive Games, India and Pakistan met in the final. After splitting the first two meetings, India came out on top this time to win its seventh Olympic men's field hockey gold medal. 

Rome, 1960:
Men- Four years after India denied Pakistan the gold, Pakistan returned the favor, defeating India in the Gold Medal Match. India's loss broke its streak of six straight Olympic men's field hockey gold medals.  

Melbourne, 1956:
Men- India defeated Pakistan in the final to win gold, extending its Olympic gold medal streak to six Games. Germany took home the bronze, its third ever Olympic men's field hockey medal.  

Helsinki, 1952:
Men- In a rematch of the 1928 final, India again beat the Netherlands to win gold, its fifth straight. Great Britain won the bronze. 

London, 1948: 
Men- After a 12-year break from Olympic field hockey, India continued its dominance winning its fourth consecutive gold medal. Great Britain took home the silver and Netherlands won bronze. 

Berlin, 1936: 
Men- India completed a three-peat in field hockey, defeating Germany in the final. Richard Allen and Dhyan Chand became the first players to win three field hockey gold medals. 

Los Angeles, 1932:
Men- India won its second consecutive gold medal, this time beating Japan. The U.S. took home the bronze, which is the country's only Olympic men's field hockey medal to date. 

Amsterdam, 1928: 
Men- After field hockey was not played at the 1924 Olympics, the tournament came back in 1928. India defeated Netherlands in the Gold Medal Match. 

Antwerp, 1920: 
Men- Great Britain competed as a united region and beat Denmark in the final to win gold. Belgium won bronze, its first and only Olympic men's field hockey medal to date. 

London, 1908: 
Men- In the first Olympic field hockey tournament the factions of Great Britain, England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, competed as separate nations and swept the podium. England took home the gold, Ireland won silver and Scotland and Wales shared the bronze.