Matt House Nominated for 2018 Broyles Award

Posted at 5:41 PM, Nov 07, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-07 17:41:07-05

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky defensive coordinator and inside linebackers coach Matt House has been named one of the 53 nominees for the 2018 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coach.

The 53 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 130 Division I programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

House, who is in his third season at UK and second as defensive coordinator, directs a UK defense that ranks eighth nationally in scoring defense, allowing just 15.3 points per game. The defense also ranks 15thnationally and fourth in the Southeastern Conference in total defense yards per game (311.8), 14th nationally in team passing efficiency defense (107.75), and 16th in passing yards allowed (178.6). UK has allowed just 138 points this season, fewest in the first nine games of a season since 1987 (136).

House’s defensive unit have helped the 12th-ranked Wildcats (7-2 overall, 5-2 in the SEC) clinch a winning league record for the first time since 1977 and at least a second place finish in the SEC Eastern Division. Along with 2016, it is the highest finish for the Wildcats since the league split into divisions in 1992. UK also has at least four SEC wins in three straight seasons for the first time in school history.

House has helped mold senior linebacker Josh Allen (Montclair, New Jersey) into one of the top pass rushers in the nation this season. Allen is currently leads the SEC and ranks 10th nationally with 14.5 tackles for loss. His 10 quarterback sacks also lead the SEC and rank third nationally. Nine of Allen’s 10 sacks have come in the second half, including six in the fourth quarter and three in the third. He also has forced five fumbles, second in the nation, two fumble recoveries and four pass breakups.

A 19-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semifinalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Arkansas where the 2018 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4 at the Marriott Hotel.

The winner of the 2018 Broyles Award was Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award.

This year marks the third time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2018 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers.