Sports

Actions

Morehead St. Football Spring Practice Rolls Into High Gear Next Week

Posted at 5:35 PM, Mar 20, 2019
Morehead St. Athletics

MOREHEAD, Ky. — Morehead State’s football program will open its spring schedule of practices on Monday. The Eagles are slated for 14 workouts before the spring game on Saturday, April 20 at 6 p.m. ET.

Nearly 70 players are expected to take part in spring drills, vying for positions on the depth chart heading into the fall 2019 schedule.

On the offensive side of the ball, a plethora of linemen return, including three who will be in their fifth year in the program come fall. The Eagles will be looking for a new starting quarterback with Lawson Page exhausting his eligibility last fall.

At running back, top ground gainer Jovan Smith is back.

Defensively, three of the top four tacklers return, including Kordell BrownEldee Edwards III and Beau Griego.

Below is the spring practice schedule. All practices, unless otherwise noted, are open and are held at Jayne Stadium.

Monday, March 25 – 6:30-8:45 p.m.
Wednesday, March 27 – 6-8:15 p.m.
Friday, March 29 – 3:30-5:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 – 1-3 p.m.
Monday, April 1 – 6:30-8:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 3 – 6-8:15 p.m.
Friday, April 5 – 3:30-5:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 – 10 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Monday, April 8 – 6:30-8:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 10 – 6-8:15 p.m.
Friday, April 12 – 3:30-5:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 – 2-5 p.m.
Monday, April 15 – 6:30-8:45 p.m.
Wednesday, April 17 – 6-8:15 p.m.

Saturday, April 20 – SPRING GAME, 6 p.m.