Terry Wilson One of Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Posted at 3:06 PM, Sep 10, 2018
and last updated 2018-09-10 15:06:45-04

NEW ORLEANS – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Terry Wilson, Kentucky (11-of-16, 151 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.0)

Wilson, making his second career start, also rushes for 105 yards and a touchdown as he helps the Wildcats to a 27-16 road victory over No. 25 Florida, snapping UK’s 31-game losing streak to the Gators.

Blake Barnett, USF (21-of-31, 207 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.9)

Barnett, who also rushes for 86 yards and a pair of touchdowns, keys the Bulls’ comeback from a 10-point fourth-quarter deficit in a 49-38 victory over Georgia Tech.

Daniel Jones, Duke (16-of-22, 192 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.3)

Jones, who only plays three quarters before being injured, accounts for all three of the Blue Devils’ touchdowns in a 21-7 road victory over Northwestern.


D’Eriq King, Houston (17-of-34, 246 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.2)

King, who sets a career-high for passing touchdowns, also rushes for a pair of touchdowns as the Cougars roll to a 45-18 victory over Arizona.

Drew Lock, Missouri (33-of-45, 398 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.7)

Lock, who also runs for a career-high 51 yards and a touchdown, leads the Tigers to a 40-13 victory over Wyoming.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (19-of-33, 306 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.6)

Murray, who also rushes for a team-best 69 yards and two touchdowns, registers his career-high in passing yards as he leads the Sooners to a 49-21 victory over UCLA.

Chris Robison, Florida Atlantic (33-of-40, 471 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.1)

Robison, making his second career start, set the school record for passing yards and led the Owls to a 33-27 win over Air Force, their first-ever victory over a service academy.

Zac Thomas, Appalachian State (14-of-14, 295 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.4)

Thomas, who also rushes for a touchdown, records career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns while becoming the first Sun Belt QB to complete at least 10 passes without an incompletion in a 45-9 victory over Charlotte.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 29 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.