Abbey Cheek Wins 2019 SEC Player of the Year; Reed, Schaper, Kowalik Also Honored

Posted at 4:43 PM, May 07, 2019
UK Athletics

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Kentucky senior third baseman Abbey Cheek was named the 2019 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year, it was announced by the league office on Tuesday morning. Cheek becomes the first Kentucky player ever to win the award in the 22-year history of the program.

In addition to Cheek being the league’s player of the year, she was also voted on by the 13 head coaches as First Team All-SEC and to the All-SEC Defensive Team for third base. She was also named First Team All-SEC.

Fellow seniors Katie Reed and Jenny Schaper were also recognized for their outstanding seasons, as Reed was named the 2019 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Second Team All-SEC and SEC All-Defensive for shortstop. It is Reed’s second-straight Scholar Athlete Award, second-straight appearance on the Second Team All-SEC and second appearance on the All-Defensive Team.

Catcher Jenny Schaper joins Abbey Cheek as the two Wildcats to be named First Team All-SEC. The St. Louis, Missouri native was also named to the All-Defensive Team for catching. Schaper’s two awards are her first two postseason honors by the league coaches in her career.

Freshman Kayla Kowalik became the 16th player in Kentucky program history to be named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Alabama’s Patrick Murphy won SEC Coach of the Year and the Tide’s Montana Fouts won SEC Freshman of the Year. Sarah Cornell was voted the SEC Pitcher of the Year.

SEC Awards

Player of the Year – Abbey Cheek (Kentucky)

Pitcher of the Year – Sarah Cornell (Alabama)

Freshman of the Year – Montana Fouts (Alabama)

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Katie Reed (Kentucky)

Coach of the Year – Patrick Murphy (Alabama)

First Team All-SEC

P – Sarah Cornell, Alabama

P – Montana Fouts, Alabama

P – Ashley Rogers, Tennessee

IF – Bailey Hemphill, Alabama

IF – Amanda Lorenz, Florida

IF – Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia

IF – Abbey Cheek, Kentucky

IF – Shemiah Sanchez, LSU

OF – Hannah McEwen, Arkansas

OF – Kylan Becker, Ole Miss

OF – Kat Moore, Mississippi State

OF – Brooke Wilmes, Missouri

C – Jenny Schaper, Kentucky

C – Mia Davidson, Mississippi State

DP/U – Kendyl Lindaman, Florida

DP/U – Fa Leilua, Mississippi State

Second Team All-SEC

P – Autumn Storms, Arkansas

P – Kelly Barnhill, Florida

P – Molly Jacobsen, Ole Miss

IF – Maddie Morgan, Alabama

IF – Katie Reed, Kentucky

IF – Amanda Sanchez, LSU

IF – Jana Johns, South Carolina

IF – Aubrey Leach, Tennessee

OF – Elissa Brown, Alabama

OF – Ciara Bryan, Georgia

OF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU

OF – Jenna Holcomb, Tennessee

C – Kendall Veach, Auburn

DP/U – Shelbi Sunseri, LSU

SEC All-Freshman Team

P – Montana Fouts, Alabama

P – Elizabeth Hightower, Florida

P – Shelby Wickersham, LSU

IF – Skylar Wallace, Alabama

IF – Lacey Fincher, Alabama

IF – Jazmyn Rollin, Missouri

IF – Madison Owens, South Carolina

IF – Baylee Klinger, Texas A&M

OF – Kayla Kowalik, Kentucky

OF – Tate Whitley, Ole Miss

OF – Anna Kate Segars, Mississippi State

C – Kaili Phillips, Tennessee

DP/U – Kaitlin Parsons, Tennessee

SEC All-Defensive Team

C – Jenny Schaper, Kentucky

1B – Amanda Lorenz, Florida

2B – Casey McCrackin, Auburn

SS – Katie Reed, Kentucky

3B – Abbey Cheek, Kentucky

LF – Jenna Holcomb, Tennessee

CF – Elissa Brown, Alabama

CF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU

RF – Kaylee Horton, Ole Miss

Kentucky begins SEC Tournament play on Thursday afternoon at 7:30 p.m. ET from Davis Diamond in College Station in the quarterfinal round. The Wildcats will face either (12) Mississippi State, (13) Texas A&M or (5) Ole Miss.

For the latest on UK Softball, follow the Wildcats on Twitter and Instagram at @UKSoftball.